Update Preview Tool
The Update Preview feature is a means for an Administrator to apply a PDF format (only) file as the temporary Artefact Preview for a period of time. This could be a way to address issues with the current drawing version rendered preview quality due to poor scans supplied as source file, missing CAD supporting files like Xrefs and fonts etc that have yet to be provided or requirements for an exactly scaled preview when Manufacturing.
The purpose of this feature is to provide a better on-screen viewing and printing experience for users until a permanent corrective action can take place on the artefact - this feature should not be used as a long term artefact preview, or missing supporting CAD file, management tool.
The Update Preview PDF, while ever it is the valid preview (see exceptions below), will be used as the Artefact Preview and to Print. The existing Native file (eg. DWG, XLS etc) for that artefact will still be provided to Draft users as Checked Out for Drafting file payloads when updating artefacts via workflow.
The Updated preview will be automatically replaced by the newly generated version artefact preview under certain circumstances.
Applied Update Preview Expected Behaviour:
- There is no Bulk version of this tool - Artefact Page toolkit only
- On screen artefact preview will reflect the uploaded PDF preview file
- Prints, single and bulk, (until Preview replaced) will be rendered from the updated Preview file
- The artefact page and history version file format icons will still reflect the original version file format while Update Preview version is active eg. DWG icon will show even though a PDF is used to update the
- The version in which the Update Preview action occurred will have 'Preview Manually Updated' comment applied to indicate that that version now shows the PDF graphics
- There is no notification for when the Update Preview is removed. The various version statuses that reset the preview are applied as usual
Triggers that will Replace an Updated Preview:
The following artefact page tools and workflow actions in RedEye will result in THAT newly submitted version rendered preview being the on screen and print rendering again. The logic behind these statuses being used is that the action is either applying new content that must be shown (eg. redpens), Reviewed/Approved next in workflow, or decisive actions that Approve/Decline actions on an artefact have taken place.
- Upload New Revision
- Update Current Revision
- Markup submitted
- Draft Checked In
- Artefact Cleanup submitted
- Update Preview
- Refresh Artefact Preview
- Rotate Artefact Preview
- Delete Version
- Restore Artefact
- Review Complete (Review completed forwards in workflow)
- Approval (ie. Approved type status applied in workflow)
- Declined (Declined status applied in workflow)